Thinking too Much

Have you ever been told you think too much?  I have.

Yes, I admit, sometimes I think things to death.  Like when someone says they will call you back and even tells you when they will call and then you never hear from them again.  I wonder, did I do or say something wrong?  Did I misunderstand?  Were they just appeasing me because they thought that’s what I wanted to hear?

I also am sometimes accused of being too brutally honest and intimidating.  I don’t see a point in dancing around the truth.  The truth is the truth.  Now I’m not saying I’m malicious or hurtful.  But for instance, my weight loss and walking is a personal journey that I need to travel alone.  I’ve had a few friends want to set up times to walk with me.  Living with fibromyalgia for fifteen years now, I know there are days when I may have a hard time getting moving in the morning.  I don’t want to rush myself because I told someone I would meet them.  And I certainly don’t want to have to cancel on them for the time we planned and then go by myself later because I know from experience some people will not handle that well and will get angry and walk away from the friendship.  So to make everyone’s life easier I tell them, I’m doing this for me.  If I know for sure what time I’ll be there I will let them know and they can join me if they want to.

Men confuse me  beyond belief.  I’ve had men tell me there really is no hidden message in the things they do and say, but I have to wonder.  One thing that really puzzles me is saying they will call you and then they never call again.  I would rather be told the truth.  If you’re not interested just say so, don’t make me think you are and then make me wonder if I did or said something wrong.  Like I said, maybe I think too much.

Maybe there truly is nothing deeper than the actions I see but I still think there is.

Today I’m grateful for:

1.  My doors are fixed and my closet is fixed so I can put some of my clothes back.

2.  The Good Friday Service at Bethany Wesleyan Church last night was amazing.

3.  I have food to eat for today.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Thinking too Much

  1. If I may… the problem with men is that there is no hidden message that we’re aware of. I think most men are taught to suppress their emotions and thus never really learn who they are as people. It’s hard to be honest about yourself if you don’t really know who you are.

    As Shakespeare wrote: “To thine own self be true, and it shall follow, as the night the day, that thou canst not be false to any man.”

Leave a Reply

