New Beginnings

March 10, 2014 was a new beginning for me.

I had been racking my brain trying to figure out where I could go to walk to get some exercise.  I don’t want to go to the mall because that’s just unneeded temptation to shop.  The park near me is nice, but I don’t really want to walk alone.  Where I live is nice, but right now I’m so out of shape and in such a fog some days I’m afraid of the uneven pavement.    And then….God answered my prayers and my church opened the new ministry center two days a week from 9:00 am to noon for people to come and walk.

I made a commitment to myself to be there those two days and to walk for 15 minutes.

So far I have walked 15 minutes on March 10, March 13, and March 17.   I will tell you honestly that it hasn’t made me feel better because with the fibromyalgia it just causes my pain to be worse,  but I need to do this for me.  It’s only 15 minutes.  I’m hoping to up my time eventually but I’m not going to push it too far too fast or I will give up.  So little by little.

This commitment I made to myself is important.  My health is at stake.  Right now everything is good except my weight.  My blood pressure, and all my vitals are good so I still have time to get healthy.

My second commitment to me began yesterday.  I’ve started writing down everything I eat and counting my points so I can lose this extra weight.  I want to feel better.

My third commitment to me is I’m doing The Daniel Plan Study online with my church.  I am using bits and pieces of their food plan but I am mostly following Weight Watchers because that’s what has been approved by my doctor.  But I am reading the book and getting encouragement from others online.

Anyone who knows me knows I take my responsibilities and commitments very seriously.  Unfortunately I never made any to myself until now.  But it’s never too late.  I need to be just as committed to myself as I am everything else.  And so began this new journey I’m on.

I will update you from time to time.

Today I’m thankful for:

1.  Commitments to me.

2.  I’m discovering the world of healthy smoothies.  YUM

3.  I’m doing something for me with God’s help.

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “New Beginnings

  1. prayingforoneday

    Brilliant read, so proud of you!!
    Keep up the amazing work hon ❤

    Shaun x

  2. Yay Linda! I’m so happy for you. It sounds like you have a solid plan for improving your health. Just be patient. Do as much as you can each day, but no more than that.

Leave a Reply

