Brutal Cold

Last night was terrifying here.  The power went on and off a couple times before it went off entirely about 8:30 pm.  They were forecasting temperatures of 0 degrees with wind chills at 20 to 30 below zero, so no electric and no heat and no water didn’t sound like a great idea.  The initial estimate to have power restored was 10:30 pm and then 11:30 pm.  Thankfully everything came back on at 10:00 pm.  In the meantime I was very glad to have my free standing pilot gas stove so I could at least have some heat coming into the house.  (I know it’s not a great idea, but for twenty minutes at a time I think it’s ok)

After the power was restored it kept going on and off all night long.  It was terrifying.  I kept thinking I was going to have to pack me and Morriss up and go somewhere to stay and the roads are icy in places and I don’t like driving at night especially with black ice.  So thankfully I was able to stay here.  But I think I only slept an hour or two.

Today I was so thankful to have heat, electricity, chicken for dinner cooking in the oven warming the house up.  I was thankful my car started and I let it run for fifteen minutes.  I napped a little bit, but as you can tell from my jumbled thoughts the fibro fog has overtaken my brain.

Today I’m grateful for:

1.  I have heat, water, and electricity.

2.  I had an awesome dinner.  Chicken, green beans and almonds, salad, and cinnamon applesauce.

3.  My car started.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Brutal Cold

  1. yes it is, please stay warm. in d.c it isn’t the single digits but we are in the teens.

Leave a Reply

