Contemplations

image

 

 

As 2013 comes to a close it’s time to contemplate where I fell short of my goals, what I did well, and what’s next.

I FELL SHORT of a lot of my 2013 goals.  I never lost twenty pounds, instead I found another fifteen.  I only read twenty-five books, not the fifty I wanted to.  I didn’t de-clutter my home the way I wanted to.   I didn’t work on my book about Buddy.  I didn’t enter any writing contests or send any query letters.  I wrote every day, but for the most part I didn’t write anything really focused.

All that being put out there and admitted to, I did survive 2013.  With all the pain and menopausal ups and downs, I SURVIVED!  That in itself  was a huge accomplishment.

Some other accomplishments for 2013:

~I blogged here every single day.  No matter what was going on or how bad I felt I wrote something here every day.

~I completed NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) in November and wrote 50,000 words.  They don’t make a lot of sense, but each word written is a word closer to my destiny.

~I used a writing prompt every day and wrote two other pages in my journal.  So each day I averaged over 700 words a day for 2013.

~I wrote three things to be thankful for every day even on days when it was hard to think of anything.

All in all with all that has been happening in my life I consider those accomplishments to be pretty spectacular.

So now to 2014.  First and foremost a friend made me realize I need to sit down and write out some very specific goals for the new year.  I will be working on that this evening as I spend the evening alone with Morriss.

I’m thinking about changing this blog up.  I’m not sure what that means or looks like yet.  If I will need time off to do that I will keep you posted.  For now I intend to be blogging tomorrow.

I know I want to work on creative journaling this year and I pulled a few writing books off of my book shelf that I’d like to read and study during 2014.

Today I’m grateful for:

1.  A quiet day and a nice short nap.

2.  A quiet New Year’s Eve to contemplate  my goals for the coming days.

3.  I’m making pork with apples and onions tomorrow.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

