Oatmeal Cinnamon Chips Cookies

I’ll never forget the phone call from dad about the Oatmeal Cinnamon Chips Cookies.

“Linda Cat did you get the paper?”

“No dad.” I replied.

“You have to go get one because in the coupons there is a recipe for Oatmeal Cinnamon Chips Cookies and there’s a coupon.” He said.

“Well, ok. Keep it there for me and I’ll get it when I come down.” I said.

“I will, but I was hoping you could bring some with you. So you would need to go and get a paper so you can get the recipe and the coupon.” He said.

“Ok dad, I will.”

So off I went to the Wawa that was across the street from where I lived for the paper and then to every grocery store in the world or so it seemed. Of course, everyone was sold out of the cinnamon chips because of the coupon in the Sunday paper. And almost every year they are hard to find if you don’t get them early.

image


1 Cup (2 sticks) of butter
1 Cup packed light brown sugar
1/3 Cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 1/2 Cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 1/2 Cups quick-cooking oats
10 ounce package of Hershey’s Cinnamon Chips
3/4 Cup raisins

1. Heat oven to 350
2. *Beat butter, brown sugar and granulated sugar in a bowl until creamy. Add eggs and vanilla, beat well. Combine flour and baking soda, add to butter mixture, beating well. Stir in oats, cinnamon chips and raisins. (batter will be stiff)
3. Drop by heaping teaspoons onto ungreased cookie sheet. Bake 10 – 12 minutes or until lightly browned.

*I always melt my butter, add vanilla, sugar, brown sugar, mix well and then add the eggs. To that I add the the dry ingredients, flour and baking soda, that I have mixed together in a separate bowl.)

(They tell you to cool on a cookie rack, but I never do. I’ve always cooled my cookies on old towels and then put them in tins lined with paper towels because I like my cookies soft.)

This began a new tradition. I’ve tried making many different cookies over the years, but the four that I’ve been making for over fifteen years now are: oatmeal cinnamon chip, chocolate chip, peanut butter, and nut butter balls.

Today I’m grateful for:

1. Today was my day to rest all day. I was in so much pain from baking and running around yesterday I took the most wonderful three-hour nap this afternoon.

2. I watched “It’s a Wonderful Life” .

3. I had left overs for dinner.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Oatmeal Cinnamon Chips Cookies

  1. prayingforoneday

    Honey…
    You really are teasing me with food here yeah?

    lol ❤ x

  2. For today that sounds like a wonderful life in spite of everything. Bless you!

Leave a Reply

