What Brings You Joy?

This was a post on Facebook from one of my friends today, “What brings you joy this Christmas?”

I didn’t have to think long before responding. Baking homemade cookies to give to friends, family, my doctors, mechanic, and strangers. I will take little bags out with me when I run errands and give them to the people I come in contact with, like the cashier at the grocery store or the person stocking a shelf. It’s really nice to see the smile spread across their face over four little cookies. That’s what truly brings me joy during Christmas.

I wasn’t sure it was going to happen this year because I didn’t have enough money to buy the ingredients. A lady from my church sent me a message that she had extra ingredients. She had a lot of extra ingredients. I have to wonder if she bought them special for me. I am so grateful to be able to go out and bless people because of her kindness.

It takes me a little longer these days than it once did. I used to be able to bake all my cookies in one weekend, but now it will take me two weeks because of this pain. But I make it work because this is important to me. This is what brings me joy. Listening to music and baking in my kitchen.

Today was a bit challenging because before I could bake I had to go outside and deal with the ice left behind from yesterday’s storm. Since we have snow coming tomorrow I needed to clean off my porch, driveway, and car so it won’t be a total nightmare tomorrow.

I managed to get a batch of chocolate chip cookies done last night. It took me all day to bake a batch of oatmeal cinnamon raisin and nut butter balls. But that’s ok. I have quite a system. It only takes me one hour start to finish, including clean up to bake about five dozen cookies. Partially because my propane stove is so hot and the cookies get done about three to five minutes quicker than the recipe states.

Today I’m grateful for:

1. Baking cookies.

2. I can relax tomorrow and bake peanut butter cookies.

3. I’m in pain but I’m feeling happy after listening to music and baking cookies.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

