A Renewed Lesson on Gratefulness

As the power flickered off and on over and over last night and then finally went off completely around 2:15 am I realized how much I take working electricity for granted.

It was 22 degrees, with a wind chill well below that, and pitch dark and terrifying when you are alone. Thankfully I had “Ye Olde Brooklyn Lantern” from the tv commercial that my mom bought me last year before the hurricane. Ironically the power never went off here during Hurricane Sandy.

Each phone call and web search of the electric company made the situation more grim and hopeless. Originally the estimate was the power would be restored by 5:00 am. The power did flicker on and off but it didn’t stay on. The next estimate was 6:30 am. The power came on from 6:05 until about 6:20, long enough to get the cat fed, go to the bathroom, brew a pot of coffee, and get my bowl of cereal.

The last estimate was 7:30 am. I was praying and praying because I was scheduled to be in the sound room this morning on Pro Presenter (the lyrics for the songs, videos, scripture. all that stuff you see on the screens). I didn’t want to go to church without a shower, but I had decided I would if I had to because I made a commitment to be there so no matter what, I would be there.

Thankfully about 7:15 the power came on again. I took the world’s fastest shower in case the power went off again. (We also lose water here when we lose power because it’s well water.)

I turned the heat up two degrees at a time because I didn’t want to stress my furnace that’s probably as old as my 1987 home.

As I sit here tonight reflecting on my night and my day I am extremely grateful to have heat, electricity, and water tonight. I am grateful and feel privileged to be a part of an awesome tech team at church. There was an awesome luncheon for us today to thank us for our service.

Today I’m grateful for:

1. Prayers lifted up and answered so I could make it to church on time to serve on the tech team and have my shower and coffee.

2. All the cool writing magazines, my friend Joan from the writer’s group delivered to me tonight. Thanks Joan.

3. The luncheon at church was so nice and I enjoyed talking to Chad and his daughter.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “A Renewed Lesson on Gratefulness

  1. prayingforoneday

    Still LOVE how, no matter you ALWAYS find 3 things to be thankful for 😀

    x

    • Thanks Shaun. 🙂 Last night was a rough night, but I am so much more grateful right now for the miracle of electricity. Maybe I needed that wake up call to get my focus back on track to what’s really important.

  2. prayingforoneday

    Please accept the “Semper Fidelis Award”
    I SAID NICE THINGS ABOUT YOU HERE, WITH THE EASY RULES:
    http://prayingforoneday.wordpress.com/2013/11/25/semper-fidelis-award-2/
    I hope you can accept..

    Thank you.
    Shaun

Leave a Reply

