My Son

I’m on target for NaNoWriMo as of yesterday. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to write tonight or not. I’m going to try, but my pain level is so high right now I’m finding it hard to even focus. I apologize in advance for the rambling thoughts you’re about to read. I will try to make sense.

It’s been a good day. My son, Steven, was here so we could have lunch together and talk about his personal statement for law school. Well, truthfully he’s not my son, but I would be very happy if he was. I’ve known him since he was about twelve years old and he’ll be thirty in March.

Where in the world does the time go? I’ve watched Steven grow into an awesome young man and I’m so proud of him. His family has been there for me many times over the years and has restored my faith in people.

My favorite memory of Steven was when I met him at the bank. His mother and I were working together and he came there after school to wait for his mom to get off work to take him home. He asked him mom for money to go and get a vanilla coke at the restaurant down the street. Then he changed his mind and asked for money for two of them. Gail looked at me and said, “Isn’t that sweet? He’s going to get me a vanilla coke too.”

(This is when I fell in love with Steven)
He looked at his mom and said, “No the second one is for her.” and he pointed at me. LOL

That was the start of a wonderful friendship between him and I. He calls me mom2. Since I never had any kids of my own I’ve been very blessed to be a part of his life.

When I was going to college he would call me every night and ask me if my homework was done and we would talk. His mom asked if he was bothering me. Absolutely not! I looked forward to his phone calls. He made me feel important.

So to my son. I know you will succeed at whatever you set your mind to do. You are an awesome young man and I am very proud of you. I can’t wait to see what the next chapter of your life will look like.

Today I’m grateful for:

1. Good friends.

2. Sweet memories.

3. The chicken I slow cooked in the crock pot for dinner tonight.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

