Melancholy

image

The writing prompt this morning was A lifetime of melancholy. I immediately wrote, “Boy does that describe me.” Then I stopped to think, what does that really mean? So to the dictionary.

Melancholy – a pensive mood.
Pensive – 1. musingly or dreamily thoughtful. 2. suggestive of sad thoughtfulness.
Thoughtful – absorbed in thought.

Yes, definitely describes me. Over the years people have told me they thought I was a snob and thought I was better than everyone else because I didn’t let them into my life. That is so far from the truth. It’s interesting how people’s perceptions can be so very distorted.

I’m so not a snob. I’m afraid of being hurt and very insecure so I don’t let people into my life very easy.

I spend a lot of time lost in my own thoughts and yes sometimes in a depressive state because I’m lonely.

The older I get the more I’m realizing that melancholy is part of my personality. It’s one of the things that make me, me.

Looking at the definitions melancholy is probably a really good trait for a writer to have. So I will work on accepting who I am and try to find joy in my lonely moments instead of resenting them.

Today I’m grateful for:

1. Who I am.

2. Writing.

3. I have food for today.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Melancholy

  1. Melancholy is one of my favorite words. It’s not the same as being sad or depressed. It’s about taking a good, hard look at the state of things, seeing there are problems and in your life or in the world, and recognizing that sometimes there’s nothing you can do to make it better. Being melancholy is one of my favorite states of mind because I know what follows it: not joy and not sorrow but a sense of peace.

    P.S.: I like your new, book themed header.

Leave a Reply

