NanoWrimo

The countdown has begun, less than two weeks before November 1st, and the craziness of writing a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. I’ve done this the past two years and met my goal both times. I thought I’d pass on some things I learned and some helpful tips from my crazy, abandonment of writing during NanoWrimo.

~Figure out what time of day works best for you to write. (Be flexible because life happens and you may not always be able to fit writing in at that best time.)
~Plan on 1,700 words a day. (The goal is 1,667, but each word processing program calculates word count differently. By setting your goal at 1,700 you’re giving yourself a cushion, just in case.)
~Don’t overthink what you’re writing. JUST WRITE!
~DON’T EDIT! You’ll have plenty of time for this when the month is over.
~Don’t worry if it makes no sense. JUST KEEP WRITING!
~Keep in mind, if it’s terrible at least you have something to work with at the end.
~DON’T GIVE UP! By week three it gets maddening. KEEP WRITING!
~Attend an event in your area. Look on Nanowrimo.org for local events.
~Go to a coffee shop to write. Change your surroundings to get new thoughts perking.
~Break the rules if you want and write something other than fiction.

I planned on plotting out my story this year, but here we are October 22nd and I have yet to do that so it looks like I’ll be pantsing once again. (Pantsing = no plan, flying by the seat of your pants)

I’m looking forward to November. There is something magical about the month of November for NanoWrimo and I can’t wait to get started.

Today I’m grateful for:

1. The dinner I have cooking in the crock pot for tonight.

2. My migraine is much better. A little ache, but nothing like last night.

3. I can relax in the house the rest of the day and night.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

