Networking

Today was the writer’s group meeting and workshops. All in all it was a good day and I even won a 2014 calendar because there was no one else left by the time it was over. LOL

Today’s topic was networking. To me networking is about treating others the way I want to be treated. And when I find those special individuals that are capable in their profession and treat me with respect I then will pass their name along to others. The whole point is you never know who knows who and who will be able to help you along on your path.

Most people think of networking at specific group functions and handing out their business cards and trying to drum up business and that is an aspect of it.

I think the grocery store, the mechanic’s shop, church and anywhere you go is networking. I may not necessary hand out my card, but talking to people and being friendly go a long way. And you never know when that person you were nice to, or opened the door for, or let them in front of you at the grocery store, will pop back into your life and they’ll remember your act of kindness and have a connection you need at just the right time.

Today I’m grateful for:

1. I’m tired and in pain, but I had a nice day.

2. It was nice going to Wegmans for lunch for a change.

3. It was a beautiful day outside and I got to spend some time with my critique partner.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Networking

  1. I like your definition of networking, as treating others as you’d want to be treated. Cast your bread upon the waters, and it will return to you, right? Get out there, take care of others, and they’ll be around to take care of you should you need it. I heartily agree.

    • Yes Sharon, the longer I live the more I see things and people will come back around somewhere down the road. Things come together when they’re supposed to and the right people come along at just the right time.

  2. Sue In Real Life

    People might forget what you said, and they might forget what you did, but they will never forget how you made them feel. Maya Angelou.

Leave a Reply

