Miracle in the Mailbox

On Saturday, August 10, 2013 I wrote on my blog that I knew I needed to cancel the Advanced Fiction Writing Class but I was hoping I’d miraculously find a way to be able to pay for it. I had it on my agenda to call and cancel on Monday, but I erased it and moved it to Wednesday. Something in me told me to wait.

Last night on my way to see Dr. Ehrig I stopped at my mailbox and in with all the bills was a green envelope with my name and address written in bold black lettering, no return address. I opened it to find a little note and a check for $79 for my class! I started to weep right there in my car. Thank you,thank you, thank you. I so needed something to look forward to right now.

The words “there but for the grace of God go I” were on the little note. I used to use those same words when I went into the prison to minister all the time. When the guys would ask me why I thought I could teach them anything. I would tell them, “there but for the grace of God go I”. Feels like those words have come full circle today.

And, of course, Keith Urban’s song is echoing in my mind too. I have no idea what the name of it is, but it’s a great song. Always makes me cry.

Ok, back to the class. I called and paid for it first thing this morning and next Wednesday it will begin. Six weeks, Twelve lessons on fiction writing. 🙂 I have something to look forward to. Yay!!!

My doctor visit went well. He got to see me at the height of my pain. By 7:00 at night I’m normally in my nightgown and winding down to go lay down in bed by 8:00 and read myself to sleep because the pain wears me out all day. When his nurse tried to take my blood pressure I had to stop her because she was causing tremendous pain to radiate from my arm all over my body. Thankfully Dr. Ehrig took my blood pressure before the visit was over. He was so gentle and pumped the cuff up slowly and my blood pressure was beautiful. 120/76. All the health problems I have now are from fixing that. That was the indicator that led to the aneurysm discovery, my blood pressure used to run 200/110 with four or five medications. So at least something works right. I can tell he feels bad about all the health problems we created by fixing that. But if we hadn’t I’d be dead so….

I never made it to the grocery store after my doctor appointment last night. I knew it would be dark by the time I would have been on my way out and I don’t like being out by myself in the dark in parking lots. So I will be doing that today and probably foregoing the Writer’s Cafe in Easton tonight. (Honestly that’s too far away for me to travel with limited gas anyway.)

Today I’m grateful for:

1. I paid for my Advanced Fiction Writing Class thanks to the nice person who sent me the check!!!

2. It’s a beautiful day outside to be out.

3. My blood pressure was beautiful…

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Miracle in the Mailbox

  1. I am so happy to hear this! I was really pulling for you on this writer’s class! God answers prayer!

  2. That is great news. I’m so happy that problem resolved itself!

Leave a Reply

