Something to Look Forward To

After I finished my blog post yesterday morning I printed out information for the “Advanced Fiction Writing” online course that I signed up for by mistake a couple of weeks ago. I’m beginning to think it was not a mistake, but a fortunate stumble upon.

When I got out of the shower I decided to set up my notebook and punch holes in all the pages I printed out and get everything ready for class. I got out a purple highlighter and dividers and organized all my papers.

As I punched holes and separated the pages into different sections of the notebook I realized I was really happy. I had something to look forward to for the first time in a long time.

I know I can’t afford the $79 and it will most likely end up on a credit card, but I can’t afford not to do this. I really need a challenge to occupy my mind right now. I’m going through so much mentally, physically, and financially I need to focus on something else.

After I got my notebook organized I looked up the resources the instructor recommended and I found time flying by. I took the pre-test and realized why I’m having so much difficulty writing anything substantial. I DON’T KNOW HOW! I HAVE A LOT TO LEARN!

As I was reading the introduction information and the first lesson I found myself having lightbulb moments and wanting to learn more. I took out James Scott Bell’s book, “Plot and Structure” and started reading it for the umpteenth time and it was finally sinking in and making sense.

Yes, I need this course. I need to find a way to pay the $79 and start on August 21st. I think it’s the beginning of some doors unlocking for me.

I think after this course I want to take, “Write Fiction Like a Pro”. I really need some things to look forward to right now. I need a reason to get up and a reason to be happy. Learning and writing are two things that make me very happy so I need to do this for me, for my sanity. I think $79 a course is a small price to pay for that.

I’m going to try to find something to pawn to pay for these courses because I really don’t want to charge anything else I’m already drowning in debt. I posted my Sony Vaio Desktop on Facebook for $60 or best offer, but no one is interested. I guess I have to look at the coins I have from my dad. I hate to do it. I’m not even sure they’re worth anything, but I guess it’s worth a shot.

Today I’m grateful for:

1. I felt like I had a reason to breathe yesterday as I worked on organizing my notebook for my upcoming course.

2. I am understanding some things about writing fiction that I just couldn’t grasp before.

3. I’m still writing. Even though it’s been a really rough year, I’m still writing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

