Too Soon

I can honestly say it was much too soon to try to push myself like I normally do. (By “pushing myself” I mean trying to go to a doctor appointment AND the grocery store in the same day.) Yeah, I know, that doesn’t sound like much and in my old life that was just a portion of my day. In my fibromyalgia world, that is a FULL day and will require resting on the couch when I come home.

Anyway, back to today. I went to Dr. Ehrig and told him about the salad at Ruby Tuesday’s and the piece I saw on the news about stomach issues in 275 people in several states. Well, just as I suspected I just need to let whatever it is run its course. The hard part as I mentioned the other day is to figure out how much is the new problem and how much is the fibromyalgia being aggravated by the other problem. I discussed my concerns about my health with him and I told him I just seem to be going from one problem to the next and it concerns me. I asked if physical therapy might be a good idea to strengthen me and he thought that would be a good idea. Now I need to find a place close by that will accept just what medicare pays and will let me slide on the 20%. Please Lord, help me to find a place near by. I could go to the hospital rehab, but I can’t afford the gas to get there.

I did have a pleasant surprise at the doctor’s office. Other than seeing Dr. Ehrig, which is always a good thing, I saw Manny. Manny used to work there years ago and then he left. Well, he’s back. I always liked him so much. He’s so personable. I always enjoyed talking to him so much. He’s just one of those people persons that is just a pleasure to be around. I gave him a card with my blog address on it, so hopefully he’ll see this little comment about him. Great people deserve to be acknowledged.

Speaking of great people, and kind of off topic, but important none the less. The author I wrote about yesterday, Ryan Winfield, is an amazing person as well as an amazing author. I’m so impressed that he thanked me for the blog about his new book and for my reviews on Amazon and Goodreads. But even more than that, he acknowledged each comment on the Facebook post about his book. I was just so impressed by that. He really cares about his readers and it shows, I like that.

Now back to today. Sorry I’m jumping all over the place, but it’s where I’m at. I went to see my friend for five minutes on my way to Wegmans. I haven’t seen him in two weeks. He called me when I was on my way to the doctor so after my appointment I called him to tell him I was done. Since I was only three minutes away from where he works I stopped to say hello and we gave each other a hug. It’s been a rough two weeks for both of us. For the first time in my life I look as bad as I feel. He said I look like sh—. Which I of course thanked him for. Then he was stumbling all over himself trying to explain that he meant he could tell I didn’t feel well. I knew that already. He told me I should skip the grocery store and go straight home. Yeah, that would have been nice, but I live alone. If I don’t go to the grocery store, then I don’t eat. So…

When I left there I went to Wegmans for some groceries. I was praying through the whole store that God would just help me to get what I needed and get home as soon as possible. I must have looked awful because one of the store employees put my case of water in my cart for me. It was an awful experience. It was busy and I was feeling more dizzy and nauseous with each passing minute. Add to that my shoulder is killing me again and I just feel like my life is absolutely pitiful.

After checking out and loading the groceries into my car I sat in my car with the air conditioning blasting praying that I would feel well enough to drive the thirty minutes back home and then be able to get everything into the house. Uggghhh! Obviously I made it.

I’m still nauseous and dizzy and in pain, but I have to keep up with my blog committment no matter what.

Today I’m grateful for:

1. It was great to see Manny at the doctor’s office.

2. I made it home from my morning safely.

3. I bought a chicken already cooked so I didn’t have to cook tonight.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

