The Dilemma

The dilemma I face whenever I have a health issue outside of the realm of the fibromyalgia:
Is it bad enough to seek medical attention or should I just wait for it to pass?

I know if it’s really bad, then that means it’s probably something I should seek attention for, but it’s hard to convince medical professionals of how bad it is when you can’t explain how bad it is.

A good example that could be seen was when I broke my foot. It really didn’t bother me all that much pain wise. It was extremely swollen and a friend made me go to the ER. I walked into the ER and to the x-ray room. The doctor said I should have been puking from the pain because I sheered the bone from my little toe back to my ankle in half and the pieces were going in opposite directions. I truly just thought I had sprained it.

So this whole adventure with the bad salad I ate at Ruby Tuesdays on Sunday. I’m still experiencing really bad abdominal cramping. I’m not vomiting and never did. But my bowels haven’t been normal. So now I have to wonder should I be seeking medical attention? I have an appointment with my primary care doctor on Friday so I guess I’ll just wait it out since I’ve waited this long already. I’m in horrendous pain but I’m not sure how much of that is from the bad salad and how much is from the fibromyalgia being flared up because of all my body is going through.

I’m too dizzy and nauseous to try to drive anyway. So I guess I’ve decided to wait it out until Friday when I see my doctor. I pray I feel well enough to drive myself there. God I hate being alone and not being a priority to anyone.

Today I’m grateful for:

1. Even though I’m feeling awful I’m still keeping my commitment to my blog.

2. I think I’m glad I don’t know how really painful this has been to my body. I might be dead by now.

3. I was able to nap this afternoon.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “The Dilemma

  1. I completely understand. I often think I could break a bone and wouldn’t even notice, and you actually did it! I hope you feel better soon, take it easy xx

    • LOL! I just read your blog about breaking a bone and not knowing. It’s amazing how terrible this pain is and how used to it we become as the days, months, and years roll by. It is tiring though. I’ve had this for 14 years now and I am really tired and worn down. 😦 Thank you for taking the time to comment. I love your blog by the way. πŸ™‚

  2. dtbrents

    Reblogged this on A Healthy You.

Leave a Reply

