Perplexed

image

Really?!? This came with my shut off notice from the electric company. The paragraph above this chart explained, ~ If your income is at or below 250% of the federal poverty guidelines…. So this chart shows what the monthly income is that is considered 250% at the Federal Poverty Level.

Hmmmm, then how is it that there is absolutely no assistance for me when I am a family of 1 with a monthly income of just $1,500 a month? Doesn’t make a bit of sense to me.

Now please don’t think I’m looking for a government hand-out. I’m just wondering why people who seem to need it less than me get help and I don’t. I see people drinking, smoking cigarettes, doing drugs, having their boyfriends (that work under the table) live with them and support the household and yet they get heat assistance, electric assistance, food stamps, cash assistance, Medicaid, etc.

Meanwhile I tried to do everything right. I didn’t have a child out-of-wedlock. I went to school part-time while working full-time to obtain my Associate’s Degree in Accounting. I worked full-time at a bank. I’ve tried my best to keep up with my home, car, credit etc. And yet society’s rules are pointing at me telling me I did all wrong. Because I had three aneurysms that triggered a long-term severe disability that now prevents me from working I’m penalized for living my life morally correct. Doesn’t say a whole lot for this land we live in. I know this world is not my home, and heaven is my final destination, but it certainly doesn’t make the struggle here any easier.

Today I’m grateful for:

1. The kind person(s) that sent me the money order so I can catch up my electric bill.

2. I will be wearing a dress today not only to be cool in this 90 plus heat but to feel good about me.

3. Writing!!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

