Battles

(I actually wrote this post on Monday, July 8, 2013, but it was Morriss Mondays so I saved it to post on July 9, 2013.)

“You may have to fight a battle more than once to win it.”
~ Margaret Thatcher

As I was writing my morning pages this quote came up on the local news during commercials. Ironically I was writing about my struggles with weight loss, writing, de-cluttering my home, just keeping up with everyday life.

I’m doing better with my weight than I ever have. While I’m not losing at the moment I am holding steady. I’ve kept the thirty pounds off that I lost for two years now. I know I need to lose more and I will. I’m in the process of learning what works and what doesn’t for me.

I’m also doing better with writing. I’ve been writing my morning pages, writing prompt, and this blog everyday since January 1, 2013. Now I want to add some writing that may actually make me some money. I won’t stop with my therapy writing because it has become a lifeline for me.

De-cluttering my home. Hmmmm, problem. I’m just so overwhelmed and my energy level is so low and my pain level is so high. Like today for instance. I woke up really wanting to attack some areas of my home, but after watching the weather I realize I’m going to have to get outside this morning and weed eat and mow the lawn before it gets too hot. So after my shower that will be all I can accomplish for the day. Just doing the lawn will cause me enough pain and fatigue that I’ll be flat on my back. Add to that I need to make myself dinner and I’m done. *Sigh*

After hearing the quote from Margaret Thatcher I thought, “I guess I’m right where I need to be at this moment in time. I can’t fight all my battles in one day or one month or one year. Maybe the writing and weight loss is enough for today.”

Today I’m grateful for:

1. I was able to restore the post from yesterday that I accidentally deleted in my sleepy pain filled state.

2. I don’t want to do the yard work, but at least I don’t have anywhere I need to be today.

3. A very nice person has been providing food for Morriss. (and his favorite food no less.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

