The Writer’s Cafe

I’m writing at a totally different time today. It’s noon. I was up at 6:00 am when the thunder and lightning started. I wanted to feed Morriss before he went into hiding. After I had breakfast (I didn’t even finish my morning pages) I got in the shower and filled up some gallon jugs with water just in case we lose power, because we have well water here, which means if we have no power, we have no water.

The news has been talking about severe weather including tornadoes. Craziness!

Last night I went to “The Writer’s Cafe” hosted by Bart Palamaro of (GLVWG) Greater Lehigh Valley Writer’s Group. It’s really cool. It’s from 7-9 on the second Wednesday of the month. The first hour is instruction on some aspect of writing and the second hour you can read a piece you’re working on and get some feedback and critique.

Last night the topic of instruction was “Fiction is Truth”. Bart opened it up to discussion and it was really eye-opening and very informative. I wish I would have written everything down that I heard because sadly my mind doesn’t retain things as well anymore.

The second hour was readings and critiques. I always listen to critiques and the ones that think like me I pay more attention to when they critique my work. I read my piece that I blogged a while ago “She Ran Away”. I have a lot of work to do on that but I really think that has a lot of potential just from the wildfire it set off in critiques last night.

***Interruption: Just ran outside to find the propane company making a delivery I can’t afford! I’m already a month behind in my mortgage and electric and now I have a $315 propane bill I can’t pay. GOD WHERE ARE YOU? PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!****

And now back to the originally scheduled blog. Anyway, my piece, “She Ran Away”, seems to have some potential and a lot of interest. I really need to clear my head of all these worries and just work on that and see where it takes me.

I always enjoy “The Writer’s Cafe”. Sadly it won’t be at Wegmans anymore. They raised their price for the room from $100 to $350 for the night!!!! Ouch!!!! So next month we’ll be meeting at Barnes & Noble in Bethlehem, which is twenty minutes further from me. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to afford the gas to do that, but we’ll see what next month brings.

Today I’m grateful for:

1. When winter starts I already have propane as long as I can figure out how to pay the $315.

2. I’m going to lay down and take a nap shortly, I’m really stressed and fatigued and getting depressed.

3. The storms that came through earlier weren’t too bad. Please Lord protect us this afternoon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

