Life With Chronic Pain

The following flowed out of me after a brief discussion on Facebook with Shaun about life with chronic pain.

We search for ways to matter,
to be productive,
to make a contribution.
Only to find out,
we’re too exhausted,
too fatigued,
and too physically tired.
Our lives go by unnoticed,
unimportant,
unfulfilled.
As the world rushes by us,
to meet their deadlines,
have their fun,
and determine their course in life.
While we sit idly by,
trying to comprehend where we fit into all this.
Trying to grab the attention of those rushing by us.
Just take a few minutes to care and listen please.
But, they slip through our grasp and we’re left alone
to figure it all out for ourselves.
Maybe they’re too scared to stop.
Maybe they don’t want to get too close for fear it may happen to them.
Maybe, maybe they just don’t know what to say
so avoidance is the answer.

Today I’m grateful for:

1. Words that flow out of me onto paper and make sense when I read them back.

2. It’s been a quite week. My knee going out-of-place has forced me to do even less than normal. Frustrating, but I’m using the time to really think about my life.

3. Wisdom to step down from things that are too much for me right now.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Life With Chronic Pain

  1. I read several of your posts and was really drawn into your story. Wow! You have a lot on your plate to deal with. What a fun blessing you have in Morris the cat. I love the three things you are grateful for at the end of each blog! I wish I could do something to help you be happier. My prayers are with you! My blog is called “Dare to Be Happy”, and you have caused me to realize once again it is a lot easier said than done and I have no idea what others are facing,yet there must be a way to find it. I sense that you know Who will help you and I find the way. Blessings to you!

    • I appreciate your prayers because I do know WHO watches over me and gives me the courage to keep trying. I am humbled and honored that you’ve decided to follow my blog. Thank you my new friend

Leave a Reply

