My First Guest Blogger (Morriss)

image

I must say I was shocked when mom asked me to fill in as a guest blogger this morning. So many other talented people she could have asked, but she told me she wants me to share with people what I see her go through living with fibromyalgia. And since I’m the only one who witnesses her life on a daily basis I guess I’m the best person, I mean cat, to do that.

I moved in with mom in 2008. I was an outside homeless cat and her friend Kathy had been feeding me in an alley twice a day. When Kathy went on vacation she asked Linda, my mom, to come and take care of me. I liked her right away. She noticed that I had a sore on my back and was so careful not to hurt me. She talked to me and told me I was handsome, I liked that.

When Kathy came home from vacation I was whisked away from the alley and taken to a horrible place where they tortured me. I thought I was going to die. They did stuff to my teeth, took out my front claws, and did something with my manly parts, (but I am still a strong man, errr, cat)

Then Kathy picked me up and took me in her car and told me she was taking me to my new mom. Imagine my surprise when I saw the nice lady from the alley in the blue car. I was a little scared, but I knew she wouldn’t hurt me. There was a conversation about Kathy paying for all my food and expenses because mom couldn’t afford to take care of me.

So I’ve been living with mom five years now. It’s no picnic let me tell you. I know most humans have to go to work, but mom doesn’t. I guess it’s because of something called a disability. I know she doesn’t make a lot of money and cries a lot when she’s trying to pay her bills. I know mom’s had to pay for me for the last three years, but she didn’t make me leave and I love her for that. Somehow she always makes sure I have food and I love her for that too. I know I need to get over my attitude about the food some days. Mom can’t afford to give me what I really like every day, but she tries at least once or twice a week. I know sometimes I make her feel bad when I won’t eat what she’s given me. I have to work on that.

Back to mom. She is a very strong woman, but I don’t think she sees that in herself. Even though she cries a lot, everyday, she still gets up and takes care of me and makes sure she showers and dresses decent even if she just ends up on the couch most of the day.

I know she loves me very much because she feeds me first and always tells me how very handsome I am, I like that, and she makes sure my litter box is clean. I know it’s really hard for her to just get out of bed some days with the pain she’s in, but she always gets up and takes care of me.

I guess I will be filling in one day a week for mom so I won’t let everything out of the bag today. I look forward to telling you more next time.

Today I’m grateful for:

1. A great mom who loves me very much.

2. Food to eat.

3. A home.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “My First Guest Blogger (Morriss)

  1. Angel

    Very sweet, Morriss

  2. Beautifully pawed, Morriss. I think your mom is very lucky to have such a sweet cat. Keep on giving her purrs and love, because your mom deserves to be loved…even if she doesn’t feel that way.

  3. Reblogged this on From the Fog and commented:
    Reblogging a cat written post. Purrfectly captures chronic illness from the view if one of our furry friends.

  4. OMG I LOVE THIS!!! I’m subscribing to you know. Thanks to Dave from “From the Fog”! I laughed, I cried, I empathized. I wonder if my dog and cat feel the same about me. God bless the furry babies, who are there with us through our pain, our tears and our joy. Soft hugs, Jessie

Leave a Reply

