Busy, Busy, Busy

Has anyone else noticed how very impersonal our world has become. People prefer texting and chatting online to meeting face to face and talking on the phone. Everyone is far too busy to take a moment out of their busy lives for anything or anyone.

I really hate to say this, but it’s an observation and nothing more. Christians can be the most guilty of this. They’re so busy saving new people and doing ministry work that they forget about the souls they’ve already won. Too busy to stop for even a moment.

I’ve been going through the most difficult time of my life this past couple of years and all the people who I would drop everything for and run to help are nowhere to be found. To say it hurts is an understatement.

Please keep in mind these are just my thoughts for today and nothing more. But if you are reading this and feel convicted then look deeper at yourself.

I only bring this up because it’s how I’m feeling today and usually the things that I notice in others are the things that I myself are guilty of and I can honestly say as a Christian I’ve been guilty of this very same thing in the past. Too busy to stop to listen. Too busy to take that call. Too busy going to the prison, the Bible study, the sound room, etc….

Now that I’ve been forced to slow my life down because of my health issues I’m seeing it very clearly.

Today I’m grateful for:

1. I cut the grass yesterday because it’s going to rain today.

2. I have food for today.

3. I don’t have anywhere I have to be today so I can rest and recuperate.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Busy, Busy, Busy

  1. I was discussing this with a family mediator yesterday when she asked me how long it might take my ex to arrange a date for our first joint session….he’s been “too busy” with work for a year so far. My step-mum is too busy helping her sister-in-law 1 day a week to keep her promise of a celebratory dinner from last November. My Dad is too busy trying to stay neutral to realise he’s stepped over the line. All sorts of people fill their lives with “busy” and it’s only ever an excuse. That sounds horribly bitter but it’s true; we all do it and we should all know better!

Leave a Reply

