Adventures With the Lawn

I’m really fighting to do this blog today. My pain is at a level I haven’t felt in a very long time. I know why it is the way it is. THE LAWN! Yes, the dreaded lawn work.

Since it was really chilly this morning I figured it would be a good time to do the lawn because when it’s warm out not only do I have to rush so as not to have a full-blown asthma attack, but I also break out in hives.

So this morning around 9:30, before my shower I went out and started my fun-filled lawn time with the electric weed eater. (Note to self: lugging an extension cord around is a pain in the behind!!!!!) Stopping many times to baby my aching shoulder and my arms that were rebelling I managed to go around the shed, the propane tanks, the deck, and the house. Dan Sedler did an awesome job on the skirting that he replaced after Hurricane Sandy, he put wood under those sections and boy did that make weed eating so much easier.

Then to fire up the lawn (hacker) mower. I now have a system where I try to mow as much as I can and then get the mower to a central point to spit out all the grass that gets clogged in it. No longer does it mulch. So then I have to go around the yard and pick up the clumps of grass left behind and put them in a trash back.

All the while I am coughing and stopping to blow my nose and suck on Hall’s cough drops.

Then the race is on to get in the house get my clothes into the wash and get myself into the shower before the asthma hits full fledge and I end up in an attack. It’s like gambling, but not with great odds. I know my body pretty well so I can tell when I’m getting close to my limit. Problem is, I can be a pig head and push myself beyond my limits.

And that’s why I’m where I’m at with my pain level. I knew halfway through the weed eating I needed to stop, but I couldn’t just leave it half done. I knew I’d never get back out there to finish it and I can’t afford to pay anyone.

Why is life so hard? I thought by now there would be someone here to help me, but once again I WAS WRONG!!!

Today I’m grateful for:

1. The lawn is done for this week.

2. Even though I’m feeling horrible I kept my commitment to my blog.

3. I got two free books from a fellow blogger from Amazon for my Kindle app this morning. Check her out she’s an awesome writer. If you take advantage of these free ebooks please leave her a review on Amazon, that’s all she asks.

Vanessa Katsoolis “Qualification Pain” and
“The Heart of Life is Good”

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Adventures With the Lawn

  1. Hello dear! I have only just stumbled across this blog post! Thank you SO much for your support! I really appreciate that you mentioned my short stories on your beautiful blog! It has just made my day finding out that you did! Thank you, thank you!

Leave a Reply

