Laughing

What a foreign word for me these days. I always loved to laugh, but there hasn’t been a whole lot to laugh about lately.

Last night laying in bed alone reading “The Day I Ate Whatever I wanted” by Elizabeth Berg I busted out laughing. I had to copy the paragraphs into my writer’s notebook so I could remember them and be able to go back to them.

The character was talking about Weight Watchers and how the only time she ever lost three pounds was when she was sick with the flu and spent the previous week embracing the toilet. Then the following week she gained two and a half pounds right back and they were saying, “Hey there, Bubbles, did you miss me?” LOL I was laughing so hard I had tears in my eyes.

I don’t know why I never read this book before. I’ve read all of Elizabeth Berg’s books as they’ve come out over the years. Maybe God knew I’d need this one right now in my life? Her books always do speak to me. She has a way of taking everyday life and making it into wonderful fictional stories that carry me away to another time and place where I can temporarily forget about my life and my problems.

That’s what I want to be able to do as a writer someday. For today I will keep writing and finding my voice.

Today I’m grateful for:

1. The sun is shining and it’s going to be another beautiful day.

2. Books that can take me out of my life for a little while.

3. The free memoir teleconference yesterday.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

