Birthday Treats and Surprises

Well my birthday turned out much better than I expected. Until 2:00 pm in the afternoon yesterday I was feeling pretty sorry for myself. Then out of the blue there was a knock on my door. My friend, who I rarely get to spend time with, was there with a smile on his face and a Happy Birthday on his lips. That meant the world to me to know he took the time to drive all the way up to me and spend a couple of hours out of his busy schedule with me.

My friend Bob called to wish me a happy birthday but I missed his call. But it was nice to hear his voice and to know that he remembered me.

My girlfriend, Michelle, from years ago sent me money through pay pal so I could treat myself to a pizza. That was an amazing surprise.

There was a message from Derrick on my blog yesterday wishing me a happy birthday. Our birthdays are the same day and I thought about him from the minute I opened my eyes, but knew I couldn’t contact him because his life is going in a different direction and his fiance was clear that I shouldn’t be friends with him anymore. So I said good-bye in January, shed a lot of tears and thought about him everyday. It was bittersweet to see his comment on my blog. I was glad he thought of me, but I know I can’t really be in his life ever again. So I replied to the comment and I will pick up the remaining pieces of my broken heart and go on from here.

The birthday wishes from my friends on Facebook were amazing too. I tried to personally thank each person that wished me happy birthday. I think I succeeded, but I also posted a thank you in case I missed anyone.

I had a $10 coupon for Outback Steakhouse so my mom offered to buy me lunch there today. So my mom, sister, and I went there today and it was wonderfully delicious. I think the last time I was at Outback was with Derrick two years ago. So it was a really nice treat.

And this morning before I left the house I looked out to see a box on my porch from Edible Arrangements. I knew I hadn’t ordered anything so I was intrigued. I brought the snow-covered box in dried it off and opened it to find a dozen chocolate covered strawberries. I’ve never had them before. I’ve always wanted to try them, but they were always so expensive and not in my budget. Wow are they AMAZING!!!! Thank you Terri! What a wonderful way to celebrate and start a new day!

image

Today I’m grateful for:

1. I was so pleasantly surprised for my birthday.

2. I’m still in pain, but today I’m smiling.

3. The snow that fell didn’t amount to anything on the roads.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

