Doctor Appointment

image

This is my primary care doctor. I found his picture on the internet and thought you might enjoy having a picture to go with the name. He’s a super nice man and a fantastic doctor. I wouldn’t be here if it wasn’t for him. After many years and many doctors I found him and he ran some tests and found the aneurysms in my abdomen with just weeks left before they would have burst.

So anyway, I had my appointment yesterday and my bloodwork was terrific. He went over everything with me line by line and everything is good including my one remaining kidney. He’s known me for over fifteen years and sees me once a month. I told him about the concerns a couple of my friends had about me being clinically depressed. I also told him I took a test online but a lot of the questions could be just the fibromyalgia and not really depression. I told him I still WANT to get out and do things, but my body doesn’t always want to cooperate and yes that depresses me knowing I can’t do the things I want to do.

After more conversation and telling him about my blog and the things I’ve been writing about he thinks it’s more the fibromyalgia than depression, but they often go hand in hand and add to that the menopause symptoms. So we’re trying another really low dose anti-depressant and we’ll see how that goes.

The fact that I’m keeping up with this blog everyday and that I am enjoying it tells me that depression is not my major malfunction. If I was depressed I wouldn’t even want to do this. I am loving doing this blog everyday. I made myself a deal, if I ever don’t enjoy doing it, then I won’t.

One thing you need to know about me. I am very transparent. I think it comes from the fifteen plus years that I was involved in prison ministry. They can see through bull a mile away and if you’re not being real they won’t listen to a word you have to say. So I’ve learned to just put my thoughts out there. No they’re not always appreciated but you won’t have to guess what I’m thinking.

Today I’m thankful for:

1. A great doctor.

2. This blog.

3. Another decent night’s sleep.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

