Shopping Stragedies

I’ve learned many coping stragedies since I’ve been diagnosed with Fibromyalgia/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. Shopping for life’s necessities isn’t a big deal when you’re well. If you run out of toilet paper or cat food you just get in the car and go get some.

Well when you aren’t feeling well and your body is in massive pain and your brain is too foggy to drive you can’t just get in the car and go somewhere. I need to be aware of how I’m feeling and if I’m not feeling well I have no business being behind the wheel of a car. (One of the many reasons I’m on disability and can’t work.)

Where my house used to sit this wasn’t really much of an issue because I was only two minutes from a grocery store and fifteen minutes away from Valley Farm Market (my favorite place to get fruits and meats). Since my house got moved in 2003 (yes, my whole house got moved) I’m fifteen minutes from the closest grocery store.

I’m now 35 – 40 minutes away from Valley Farm Market and 25 – 30 minutes away from Wegman’s (my preferred grocery store). Wegman’s is cheaper than all the stores near me so I’d prefer to go to Valley Farm Market and Wegmans and get better quality at the best prices.

So I’ve had to change my way of shopping. There are some things I will stock up on, if I financially can, when they’re on sale. Things like toilet paper, shampoo and conditioner, laundry detergent, coffee, trash bags etc.. (you get the idea)

I will buy a pound of lunch meat and split it up into three slice packages in plastic wrap and freeze it so I have it for lunches. When I buy fruit within a day or two I wash and cut everything up so I can just take the container out and take what I want to eat.

I buy meat when it’s on sale at Weis or at Valley Farm and freeze it so I always have something healthy to eat. I just need to remember to take it out of the freezer.

So now I stock up and store because I don’t feel well enough or have enough money for gas to be out running from store to store.

Today I’m thankful for:

1. The meat in my freezer.

2. Although I’m still in pain, it’s not quite as bad as yesterday.

3. Church this morning.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

