Waiting on Time

Listening for time.
Time is silent
and yet marches on loudly.
Sometimes quickly,
sometimes at a snail’s pace.
It’s achingly loud when
you’re longing for something
just out of reach
that you’ll never be able to have.

Time can hurt or heal.
Wounds left alone to time
cover over with new memories of life.
The wounds never go away,
they just fade with time.
Time apart from someone you love
can hurt the relationship or heal it.

Time is all I ever wanted from you
and the one thing I never got.
Funny how it’s always that one thing
you long for that is so far out of reach.

Today I’m thankful for:

1. I survived another Valentine’s Day alone.

2. The sun is shining, thank you God.

3. I took my notebook and pen to bed last night because what I wrote today poured out of me while I was half asleep.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

