Counting His Breaths

Today’s post is from a writing prompt the other day. In lieu of Valentines Day I thought it was appropriate. Since I’m alone and longing for someone to spend my Valentines Day with I figured I’d better post this today because history has proven I will be a basket case on Thursday.

I free wrote this without thinking and after reading it back I realized it’s to the man of my dreams, the man I love. Wish he was here, we’re wasting too much time.

The writing prompt was: COUNTING HIS BREATHS

COUNTING HIS BREATHS as the minutes tick by way too quickly. Counting his breaths and praying the moment would stand still. Counting his breaths and wishing each one of his was spent with me. Just breathing together. Just being together.

Simple bodily function, but so important. Counting his breaths I realized just how many of his I had missed. Wasted moments. Wasted breaths. Wasted hours. Wasted time that could have been spent together. Hours I could have been listening to him breath and looking in his eyes and feeling his hands caress me and his kisses warming me from the inside out. Time spent in his arms talking, or in silence, so comfortable.

Feeling so desperate as each moment and breath passes by. Just wanting to freeze each moment we have together. I don’t want to lose another single moment with him. I want to capture each one. I want him with me so we can share our remaining breaths together. No more pain and loneliness for either one of us, just counting our breaths together.

Today I’m thankful for:

1. What I wrote. Maybe someday it will be reality.

2. I don’t have to go out and work, this fibromyalgia is killing me.

3. The next snow storm doesn’t look too bad.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

