My Mechanic

Another wonderful day of pain, disorientation, feeling nauseous, and wanting to stay in bed all day, but I’m in too much pain to lay back down. So begins another day in the life with Fibromyalgia and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. The one doctor I saw and the words he said are repeated often in my mind, especially on days like this when I feel like I want to die, “Fibromyalgia won’t kill you, but there will be days you wish it would.” This is definitely one of those days. I’ll apologize now if this post is jumbled and incoherent.

Focus off of how horrible I feel and off of Valentine’s Day, a holiday that makes me want to jump out a window.

Today I was thinking about my mechanic and how blessed I am to have him and how I found him. I was going to a great mechanic across the street from my house, but one day when I went over to make an appointment he was GONE. Packed up, nothing left, just gone. (I keep my car maintained with oil changes and maintenance so it had only been 2 or 3 months.)

So home I came disappointed and stressed because it is so very hard to find a reasonable HONEST mechanic. I prayed, opened the phone book and my eyes landed on Murphy’s Garage. Hmmmm. I remembered seeing that sign on the little side street I often used to avoid going the long way around. So I called. The gentleman that answered the phone was a little gruff. I told him I needed to schedule an oil change.

His response, “I only work part-time so don’t have your car towed here in the mean-time. If you’re late for the oil change I won’t do it. Make sure you’re here at 9:00 am sharp.”

I remember thinking am I really doing the right thing, but I figured I’d just go for the oil change and if I didn’t like him I would never have to go back again.

So the day came. I got there at 8:55 to make sure I wasn’t a minute late. He pulled my car in and let me stay in the bay and watch. (Most places won’t let you do this, but I prefer to see what’s going on so I know if they’re telling me the truth or not.) He told me there were two oil plugs on my station wagon and the one hadn’t been emptied in a long time. I had no idea, but he showed me and yes it did. As he finished up with the most thorough oil change I’d ever seen (checked all my belts, hoses, brake lines, exhaust, checked and topped off antifreeze, brake fluid, power steering fluid, windshield washer fluid, transmission fluid, changed the oil and filter, checked my air filter, checked all my tires and put air in them, cleaned my battery cables, checked my antifreeze to see what temperature it was good to because we were coming into winter, checked the strength of my battery) he told me it looks like I try to keep up with the car and he’d be willing to take me on as a customer.

He said, “I’m old and I can pick and choose the cars I work on. I don’t waste my time on people who don’t try to take care of their car. You look like you try to maintain it so I am open full-time and if you need to have it towed here you can.”

I felt like I had passed a huge test. Needless to say this began a trusted relationship. He was always fair with his prices and honest when he felt the car was no longer worth fixing.

Then his son Marv took over. I wasn’t sure how it was going to look but his son is just as fantastic. I do my best to keep the car maintained so I don’t have the crisis situations where you have to be towed.

Marv is a great mechanic and I am so grateful and thankful to God for showing me the name and number of this garage. Now my mom is having me bring her car to him for maintenance because she sees what good care he gives my car.

I remember the day I went to look at the car for my mom at Outten Chevrolet. I had already made an appointment with Marv to take a look at it. When the car dealer pulled the car up I told him that car was not the car on the internet. The one on the internet looked just like mine, but a shiny metallic grey. The one they pulled up was a dented up black car with a white pinstripe. If I hadn’t already had the appointment with Marv I wouldn’t have even bothered.

I took the car to Marv and really gave it a run for the money on the way. Like turning the air conditioning all the way up on high cool and taking it up the big hill as fast as it would go. Speeding up and hammering the brakes to see how it would stop. Even though the car wasn’t pretty and it was filthy inside it ran tight. The transmission was tighter than my car. The power is amazing. And it only had 64,000 miles on it. Marv looked the car over and he said it was in pretty good shape for a 2002. He never charged me a dime and spent forty-five minutes really looking it over, taking off the tires and looking at the brakes and looking at all the lines, hoses, belts and showing me everything he was looking at.

Bottom line I have an awesome mechanic! Lord bless Marv and his family today.

Today I’m thankful for:

1. My mechanic.

2. The car God has provided for me.

3. Writing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

