The Dreaded Propane Bill

Well I paid my bills yesterday and there are a couple that I just couldn’t pay or I wouldn’t have been able to get any food. One of which is the dreaded propane bill for $432.47. My stomach is in knots and my body is in pain because it’s now overdue and I know I’ll still need one more delivery before winter ends. I don’t even use my oven or stove anymore because I don’t want to use the propane frivolously.

There are a lot of misconceptions out there about help from the government and other agencies. I am a childless, disabled woman, 45 years old and I’m a couple hundred dollars over the new and improved income limits that were set forth about 4 years ago. So NO I am not eligible for LIHEAP or the other programs. I’ve applied for them all and have been turned down by them all. And it is not true that they won’t let you freeze when you hit a crisis of 15 gallons. NOT TRUE! Only if you have children in the home. Since I don’t, I don’t matter. I am the invisible in our system.

Just a few years ago I used to get help so I know all the avenues available, but that all changed in the blink of an eye. No warning, just denials with an updated income limit chart.

I used to get: (SORRY THIS DIDN’T WORK OUT IN A CHART WHEN IT GOT POSTED, BUT YOU GET THE IDEA!)

monthly yearly
Medicare premiums paid by state $100 $1200
LIHEAP 500
crisis heat help 300
Food Stamps (I’ve gotten a range
$42 to $145 I’ll go with the lower) 42 504
Prescriptions 45 540
(not to mention the zyrtec and mucinex that
went over the counter and tripled in price. __________
So I’ve lost in a year $3,044
Not to mention that I used to be able to get eye exams and glasses for free and that program is no longer funded at all.

So yes I am aware of the help that is available unfortunately according to the new income limits that our government has set forth I do not qualify for anything except my $16 a month in food stamps. All that help was taken away by surprise in one year when I re-applied. I was absolutely shocked and astounded. There was no warning, just, that’s it you’re DENIED!

I know the government doesn’t owe me anything, but I didn’t choose to be in this situation. I worked hard full-time, went to school part-time, got my associates degree in accounting and was getting ready to start my bachelors when three aneurysms stopped my life in its tracks. Nothing has ever been the same. My whole world was turned upside down. I’m still fighting, but I am getting really, really tired.

Today I’m thankful for: (and I’m digging deep for this)

1. The fruit in my refrigerator that I got for a good price at Valley Farm Market.

2. My ability to write and read.

3. The poem that poured out of me this morning before I got out of bed.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Dreaded Propane Bill

  1. I heard. I only qualify for daycare assistance, then I then to reapply, I was twenty dollars over the limit. So, I went from paying 263 a month for daycare to 960 and to reapply next month. I was blessed to get it reinstated.

  2. I heard. I only qualify for daycare assistance, then I then to reapply, I was twenty dollars over the limit. So, I went from paying 263 a month for daycare to 960 and to reapply next month. I was blessed to get it reinstated. I wish I had some words of wisdom to give, but only thing that comes to mind it Matt 6:25-34. 25“Therefore I say to you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink; nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food and the body more than clothing? 26Look at the birds of the air, for they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? 27Which of you by worrying can add one [u]cubit to his [v]stature?
    28“So why do you worry about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; 29and yet I say to you that even Solomon in all his glory was not [w]arrayed like one of these. 30Now if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?
    31“Therefore do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. 33But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. 34Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

    • Amen. I know God can handle it, but sometimes people don’t answer his call when he asks them to do something. I know because I ignore those small promptings from him sometimes too. I’m trying to do better with that.

Leave a Reply

