2013 Goals Evaluation

I took some time this morning to look at my 2013 goals and evaluate where I’m at. I need to buckle down with my weight loss, reading, learning, and decluttering my home. My writing is going well and I’m enjoying making entries on this blog.

Yesterday I was reading Natalie Goldberg’s “Writing Down the Bones” and this quote jumped out at me, “…you might have to be willing to write junk for five years, because we have accumulated it over many more than that and have been gladly avoiding it in ourselves.” My writing has truly been therapy for my painful past. Some days I literally cry as I’m writing, but afterwards I feel purged, more free somehow. I’m beginning to know who I am and see how strong I really am.

The next lines that caught my eye, “it is good to know about our terrible selves, not laud or criticize them, just acknowledge them. Then, out of this knowledge we are better equipped to make a choice for beauty, kind consideration, and clear truth. We make this choice with our feet firmly on the ground.” I believe as a writer it’s important to know me, the real me, the me no one else knows, before I can truly write as God intended. Where will this road lead? Success I hope. I want to write transparent, encouraging, and uplifting truths based on my own journey.

As I work through my 2013 goals I hope I emerge from this year happier, healthier, new and improved with healthier habits. Habits of caring for my home, my health, and my writing life. I’m glad I started this journey of reprogramming with my blogathon. I like who I am and how I feel when I’m writing everyday.

So the journey has begun. No turning back now. I just need to keep walking on this road and writing the words that come and follow where they lead.

Today I’m thankful for:

1. My life (even though some days I complain and it’s hard to be alone, I’m glad I’m not living in an abusive situation or living with an addict or alcoholic like I did growing up. Quiet can be very good!)

2. The privilege of prayer.

3. Music to get lost in.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

