Disabled

This morning as I was going through Facebook posts and comments I was annoyed to see how people think if you’re on disability and getting food stamps that you are taking advantage of the system and living the high life.

I still remember the last church I was at a gentleman found out I was disabled and held a fifty dollar bill out to me and said, “I have an opportunity for you. It’s one thing to give a man a fish, it’s another to teach him to fish.” Like I was too stupid to know how to make money!!!! He didn’t know what to do when I told him that I am disabled, not stupid and I would rather starve than take his money.

I’ve been on disability since 1999 when I had three abdominal aneurysms that set my health into a downward spiral. Just because I dress nice (which, by the way, everything I buy is from clearance racks and I use coupons) and don’t look like I rolled out of bed when I go to the grocery store DOES NOT mean that I feel well. You have no idea how very difficult simple every day tasks like going to the grocery store are for me. I am usually only physically able to do one task a day. So the grocery store is that task for the day before the fatigue overwhelms me and I need to come home to the couch and lay down. I choose not to let you see how awful I feel because that would repulse you.

I’m not living the high life. I get $16 a month in food stamps. I don’t have enough money for all the bills and medications that I need. Yes I have a smart phone, but it’s cheaper than the phone, internet, and cable packages in my area. I don’t have a home phone anymore, the internet is on my phone, and cable is the extreme basic and soon to be cancelled because of the cost.

I don’t go out to eat or go to movies. I don’t have enough energy to go out partying even if I had the money. I try my best to eat healthy, but it is very expensive to eat fruits and vegetables. All my books on my Kindle app on my phone have been freebies.

Yes I have a decent car, but only because my long-term disability insurance from my last employer wrongfully terminated my benefits for four years and when they were audited had to pay me the four years back pay plus interest because I AM DISABLED! You didn’t see all the vehicles that I drove that were held together by duct tape and prayer. You don’t know the anxiety I had every time I left the house just hoping I would make it back home that day.

No one has any idea how hard another person’s life is. Why do people feel the need to judge them like they know what’s going on? I don’t feel the need to explain my life to everyone. Thankfully now I can tell people when they ask that irritating question, “So what do you do?” I can say, “I AM A WRITER. AND YES, I AM PUBLISHED. CHECK OUT MY BLOG.”

Why don’t we all just love each other for who God created us to be and stop acting like we know what another person is going through.

Today I’m thankful for:

1. The car God provided for me five years ago.

2. I AM A WRITER.

3. Free books from Amazon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

