Goodbye My Friend

I know we’ve all had to let go of friends in our lives. Sometimes it’s a relief and sometimes it’s sheer agony. Sometimes circumstances make it impossible to continue the friendship and sometimes death comes too young. Whatever the case, it’s still painful and I always feel like I’ve lost a little piece of my heart.

I woke up this morning with thank yous running through my mind for a friend that I really lost about a year ago, but couldn’t face it and admit it until January 2013. I wanted to believe him, I really did, but my heart knew long before that it was over, he found someone else and was moving on. This is the only downside to men and women being friends. It can’t last after one of them meets someone they want to get serious with. I knew that going in but I guess I hoped this time it would be different.

So today this blog is a thank you to my friend that’s no longer in my life. Will he read it? I don’t know. For me it’s a positive step in my life that I was able to think of things I was thankful for about him because I’ve been way too angry and hurt by the way he handled the whole situation. So maybe after I write this I will finally be able to just let it all go, forgive, and move on with my life.

Dear Friend,

Thank you for always encouraging me to keep writing. Thank you for telling me about WordPress and educating me on all the advances in technology. (I had dial-up internet when we met and you helped me to understand what broadband was.) I wouldn’t have this blog if it weren’t for you. Thank you for the days when you would call everyday and talk for an hour or so. (You have no idea how very special and important those calls were. I looked forward to the phone ringing all day.) Thank you for the times you made me feel special and wanted. Thank you for all the hours of conversation, laughs, jokes, cards, and text messages we shared.

My life will never be the same because of you. I never wanted to let you go or see it end so I held on far longer than I should have. I know you’ve started a new chapter in your life and must move on, but I have to say I will miss you terribly. This has been one of the hardest things I’ve ever been through in my life. I hope things go well and work out the way you dreamed they would.

Today I’m thankful for:

1. Waking up with thank yous running through my mind.

2. Another day to be home and heal from the painful biopsy from last week.

3. All the people who have read and will read my blog.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

