Changes

Sleep eluded me last night because of unusual circumstances. As painful and emotional as last night was it brought light and clarity to a situation that needed to be changed.

Circumstances, people, and things change. Sometimes gradually, sometimes at the speed of light. Sometimes too fast for our comfort level, and sometimes not fast enough. Some things we wish would never change, and some things we know must change.

This New Year has brought some positive changes. This blogathon I’ve made a committment to for the month of January has made me feel alive and like I have a purpose to get out of bed for.

I’ve stepped out of my comfort zone and bought a couple of dresses (on clearance, of course) to wear instead of jeans all the time.

Then of course there are the negative changes. I’ve lost my best friend of the past two years. I knew it wouldn’t last when he found a woman to settle down with but it doesn’t erase the memories.

Then there’s the good and bad changes. The good of Dressbarn (my favorite clothing store) closing – I got a whole new wardrobe for one quarter of the normal prices. The bad – I will miss them and my credit card is still smoking.

And so now to see what other changes 2013 has in store for me.

Today I’m thankful for:

1. The new clothes I found. I’m excited to try wearing dresses again. I may need to wait until spring when I can wear sandals, not sure if my shoes will look good with the dresses.

2. The nap I’m going to take this afternoon.

3. Dodging a bullet in a relationship.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

