Words

Hurtful words, helpful words, demeaning words, difficult words, loving words, deceitful words, encouraging words. So many words we can speak or write each day.

Words can build up or tear down. The old saying, “Sticks and stones can break my bones, but words will never hurt me” is so untrue. Words have a tendency to roll around in our mind and hearts long after they were communicated. If you’re anything like me, you replay them over and over. Unfortunately the negative words seem to have a much longer lasting presence than the positive.

We all need to spread more encouraging words. That was the one thing I truly loved about my friend that disappeared from my every day life. His words built me up and made me feel like I mattered. I had many years of negative words spoken into my life so it took a while to trust him and truly appreciate those words. Sadly just about the time I started to blossom and let him in he was gone and onto somebody else. Somehow I knew it wouldn’t last forever, but I was not expecting it to just one day disappear after two years of really working on trusting and letting him into my world. Two years of talking, sharing, and caring just gone in a heartbeat. Now for the past five months I’ve been starving for words of encouragement, but there weren’t any.

That is until yesterday. I was up early and decided to go to the 10:30 gym service at my church. (I was in the sound room Saturday night for the service so normally I don’t go to the Sunday service because with my illness it just takes a lot out of me.) I was so thankful I went because the service was fantastic. I went up to thank Pastor Robert for his message because it was awesome and it was the first time I’ve had the opportunity to hear him give a message. And then out of the blue “words of encouragement”. The drummer from the worship team thanked me for being there. He said if he can look out and see just one person really getting into the worship it pumps him up and I was that person for him yesterday. He has no idea who I am or what I’ve been going through or how very much those kind words meant to me. I left church feeling like maybe there is a reason to keep trying, that maybe I am making a difference on this earth, and maybe there is a purpose for my life.

Today I am thankful for:

1. Kind, encouraging words.

2. Music that can transport me to other places in my mind.

3. Uplifting messages.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

