Happy New Year

And so today begins my January blogathon. I’ve set a goal to blog every day for the month of January. Since today is New Years Day I thought it was appropriate to share my New Year’s Goals. I’ve decided I like the word goals far better than resolutions. Here are definitions from Webster’s Dictionary.

RESOLUTION: 1: the act or process of reducing to simpler form as
a: the act of analyzing a complex notion into simple
ones c: the act of determining

GOAL: 2: the end toward which effort is directed: AIM

I want to accomplish not just analyze and determine. Maybe they should work hand in hand. I’ve analyzed and determined what I want to accomplish in the New Year. Anyway here is my list:

1: January 1, 2013 through January 31, 2013 one month blogathon. Post to my blog every day for the month of January.

2: Read fifty books in 2013. (I did succeed at this for 2012)
In addition to reading the fifty books I want to make a note of the dates I start and complete each book. I also want to write a short summary on each book about what I liked and didn’t like.

3: Work on the children’s picture book about Buddy.

4: Enter Writing Contests

5: Send query letters to magazines

6: Declutter my home by working fifteen minutes a day on it and file bills and paperwork.

7: Lose twenty pounds.

8: Learn more about revising my writing. Read James Scott Bell’s book on revision and self editing.

9: Write down three things to be thankful for every day. (An exercise I used to give to the ladies and gentlemen in prison to refocus their attention on something good.) I really need to refocus myself these days.

10: Walk.

11: Participate in CampNanoWrimo in June OR August. (writing a 50,000 word novel in a month challenge)

12: Participate in Nanowrimo in November. (writing a 50,000 word novel in a month challenge)

13: Make an appointment with myself to write everyday.

As I typed the list I was thinking maybe certain things could be thirty- day challenges like my blogathon so they wouldn’t be so overwhelming and I could see if they were really what I needed to be focusing on.

And so today I’m thankful
1) I have a home and it’s warm.
2) I have food to eat.
3) I’m starting my New Year writing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

