Books

I really wanted to post a poem from the book “We Laughed We Cried – Life With Fibromyalgia” but I’m afraid of copyright infringement.  The poem is titled “The Irony of Fibromyalgia” by Evelyn Schuman.  The book was compiled and edited by Kit Gardiser & Kathleen Kerry.  I found this book early on in my diagnosis.  It’s a wonderful little book with cartoons, personal stories, and poetry from others living with this misery called fibromyalgia.  Some of the entries are funny, some painful, and some are both.   Check it out on Amazon.com, I’m sure there are used copies for sale. 

So since I can’t post that poem –  here is a list of some books that have helped me in this journey.   You’ll find my comments in the parentheses.

 

Fibromyalgia & Chronic Myofascial Pain Syndrome

A Survival Manual

by Devin Starlanyl, M.D.

Mary Ellen Copeland, M.S., M.A

(This book helped me to understand all the complex components of

this disease.)

 

Alternative Treatments for Fibromyalgia & Chronic Fatigue Syndrome

Insights from Practioners and Patients

by Mari Skelly and Andrea Helm

(I never finished reading this book, but there are a lot of patient’s

stories and therapy options discussed.)

 

Your Personal Guide to Living Well with Fibromyalgia

an official publication of the Arthritis Foundation

(This book had some of the best self help tools.  I especially liked

the worksheets and diary suggestions.  They helped me in finding a

balance in my life.)

 

What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Fibromyalgia:

The Revolutionary Treatment That Can Reverse the Disease

by R. Paul St. Amand

Claudia Craig Marek

(Please know that this treatment did not CURE me, but it has helped

tremendously with the pain.  It’s about how guaifenesin / mucinex can

help you.)

 

Now a note from me, just because these books and therapies may have helped me it doesn’t me they will help you.  Fibromyalgia is not a “one size fits all” kind of disease.  Everyone I know who has it functions at different levels and uses different therapies.  You need to become very aware of your body and what works and doesn’t work.  A journal or diary is the best way to do this.  Write down EVERYTHING, even things you think wouldn’t really matter, and keep doing this for a month or so and see where there are patterns in the way you feel. You’ll be surprised what may trigger your pain and fatigue.

Conclusion for Today:  You are your own best advocate.  Be aware of your body and how you feel.  Remember the doctor is your employee and works for you, if they’re not listening to you find one who will.  

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

