Be Upbeat

So you’ve gotten the diagnosis, finally, and it sucks.  Fibromyalgia.  If you’ve had it for any length of time you know how challenging it can be everyday. Friends and family don’t understand, maybe like me, you can’t work anymore.  Relationships suffer around this disease if the people in your life don’t try to understand and if you don’t try to be upbeat. Yes you.

The first three years after I was diagnosed I told everyone about my pain and suffering and was miserable most of the time.  I lost a lot of friends.   My world got smaller and smaller.  The sun rose and sat on my misery.  Then I made a decision.  I would allow myself fifteen minutes every morning to be miserable.  I can cry, scream, swear, complain, moan, and carry on about how very unfair this life is.  After those fifteen minutes and my shower, that’s it for the day.  No more. 

When I leave my house I put on a smile and laugh no matter what.  Some days this is harder than others, believe me.  I’ve learned that a trip to the grocery store can be a fun adventure instead of frustrating.  I’m in a fog most of the time from the overwhelming fatigue that I live with so sometimes finding things in the store can be frustrating.  I’ve learned to enjoy the things I find along the way.   Yesterday for instance, I was looking for Ivory Dish Liquid.  On the way there I saw a book by an author of a series I read years ago and so I stopped to read the description.  Then I saw the nail polish and Sally Hansen has some new Easter designs out in the nail stips and they were on SALE!  And finally there was the dish liquid.  So I had fun on the way. 

Conclusion for Today: Isn’t life more about the journey than the destination anyway? Why not try to enjoy the small moments. 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Be Upbeat

  1. I’ve always been told that I am the happiest miserable person people know. Even the nurses at my doctors say I am their happiest patient. I never complain even if I have to wait hours to get my treatment. I always tell people this “If I cry, I get a headache. If I laugh I feel better. No matter what pain I’m in, I’d MUCH rather feel better than gain a headache!”

  2. I’m with you, I’d much rather laugh and I hate headaches. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts.

  3. Derrick

    I think its great that you are such a wonderful inspiration to others. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

