Procrastination

I’ve been procrastinating much too long now.  The Writer’s Conference is coming in a couple of weeks and I still need to edit and rewrite the first couple chapters of my novel so I have something to give to the agent if she asks.  I also need it for the Page Cuts workshop.  So I need to get to work! Why do I do this to myself?  I tell myself I work better under pressure, but honestly it’s maddening.  I can find a million other things I’d rather do than what I need to do. 

Yesterday I took some library books back and then looked around and took out two more books.  Like I really need to be finding something to read right now. Although I must say the one book I picked up I’m almost halfway through and it is one of the best books I’ve ever read.  “The Running Dream” by Wendelin Van Draanen.  It’s a young adult fiction book, but the subject matter is what pulled me in to wanting to read it.  The main character, Jessica, a sixteen year old runner lost her leg in an accident and this book describes all the challenges that comes with that major life change. 

My father lost both his legs below the knee before he passed away and this book nails the facts and makes them as heart wrenching and personal as it was witnessing what my dad went through.  I know I need to get my life story on paper because not only is it action packed and unbelievable but I think it could help so many people struggling with challenges and changes.  When it’s time it will come I’m sure.  In the meantime I need to get to work.

Conclusion for Today:. I need to set my fears of success or failure aside and just do the next thing.  Which for today is print my novel and begin editing and rewriting.  And of course finish reading this awesome book , “The Running Dream”.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Procrastination

  1. Derrick

    I see you are finding all sorts of inspiration aren’t you?

  2. Oh Derrick, so much I want to write and read. And you have been a huge part of me even wanting to try. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

