A New Day

I feel much better today.  Just had to wait out that melancholy mood of the past two days to get to the other side of it.  The fact that I had twenty-eight people view my blog yesterday helped my mood tremendously.  It’s really exciting to think that people are reading my words.  My friend Derrick told me that I’m helping more people than I realize.  I hope that’s the truth because some days I really wonder if I make any difference in anyone’s life and I feel really insignificant.

Well now it’s time to start editing my novel so I can have at least three chapters ready for the writing conference next month.  I’ve read through it once and it wasn’t too bad.  Now I think I’m going to go sentence by sentence and just start fixing the obvious errors in spelling and grammar.  While I’m doing that I’ll keep an eye out for ways to include some dialogue and deepen the plot and sub-plots.   I know this will be a long process but I’m up for the challenge.

So the first thing I need to do is print out a copy of my novel double spaced so it will be easier to edit.  I just saved a double spaced copy to my Open Office Word Processor and it’s 141 pages so maybe I’ll print twenty pages a day so it’s not so overwhelming.

Conclusion for Today:  There’s nothing so bad in my novel or my life that a couple hours or days can’t change.  I just need to keep moving forward one word at a time and one minute at a time.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A New Day

  1. Derrick

    Hey I’m glad to see you’re up for the challenge. Remember it may be challenging but it it’s also very therapeutic too. Although you are helping others, ultimately you’re doing yourself a service too. Just keep that in mind.

  2. You’re absolutely right Derrick. I feel so much better about myself and the world when I am writing. You have the gift of encouragement my friend and I appreciate you.

Leave a Reply

