A New Journey

Tuesday, January 31, 2012

Hmmm a how to book?  Just read a blog about this and thought about keeping a journal about my new and exciting journey of learning how to be a writer.  So today I start this blog to record my journey.  I don’t know if anyone will be interested in reading about my journey, but I figure this blog will keep me accountable to writing and will leave me with a record  to look back on.

Since doing NanoWrimo (National Novel Writing Month) in November the writing bug has bitten me.  I’ve started reading my manuscript that I wrote, but I’m clueless how to revise and rewrite something eighty five pages long.  So I took a book out of the library by James Scott Bell and liked it so much after reading two pages that I went online and ordered two of his books.  I’m still waiting for them to arrive in the mail.

I’ve also joined GLVWG (Greater Lehigh Valley Writer’s Group) and signed up for the conference in March and I’ve attended a workshop on publishing on Amazon.com for Kindle.  I’m getting as much information as I can and I’m feeling pretty clueless and overwhelmed.  But I’ve decided to write through the confusion and see what happens.

Today I feel Iike I am a writer and I may even make something of myself if I just glue myself to the chair and write everyday.  That’s the single biggest piece of advice that seems to come from every source – SIT DOWN EVERY DAY AND WRITE REGARDLESS OF HOW YOU FEEL ABOUT IT AND WHETHER OR NOT YOU FEEL CREATIVE OR MOTIVATED.  So this is where I begin.

NanoWrimo was a fantastic experience and I know I will be participating again because it made me set a ridiculouse goal of 50,000 words in a month and I DID IT!  Which tells me, if I set my mind to it, I can accomplish anything.  With God all things are possible.  So even though I feel terribly inadequate starting this journey, knowledge is power and I intend to learn as much as I possibly can about this new found love in my life.

My friend Derrick pointed out that I seemed happiest, in the year that he’s known me, in November when I was writing everyday.  He’s absolutely right, I was happier then than I have been in a long long time.

Conclusion for today:  Writing is something I need to do for me.  Like breathing keeps me alive, writing keeps my soul alive.  If I never publish anything, it’s ok.  I’m doing this for me because I am important and deserve good things in life.  I deserve to be happy and I’m never happier than when I’m writing.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “A New Journey

  1. tpekurny

    Way to go Linda!! So excited for you and your new journey!~Tracy

  2. Derrick

    Congrats! I’m so glad you started this and I look forward to reading writings. I think this is the perfect platform for your talents to shine.

  3. Helen Charlotte Clark

    Linda, Go after your dream…life is too short not to!!
    More power to you.

  4. Melissa

    You go girl! I like your style, very real just like you speak. You can do this:)

  5. Thank you all for your words of encouragement and support. They truly mean the world to me.

  6. Audrey

    Linda,
    Im so glad you discovered a love for writing.! Yes your on a new journey and you do have a way with words;) so have fun with it, add your humor to it and most of all use your talent for Gods glory!

Leave a Reply

